Xbox players choosing a free trial on Sunday, October 25 should check the offer’s conditions before starting a large download. This week’s Free Play Days selection separates Game Pass-only access, three-hour trials open to everyone, and a Riders Republic window that runs a day longer.
The official October 22 Xbox Wire announcement lists these windows. It does not give a precise ending hour or time zone, or a separate end date for the Monster Hunter trials. October 25 should not be read as a promise that every offer lasts until your local midnight.
Which games require Game Pass?
| Game | Membership requirement for this offer | Listed end date | Separate playtime cap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dying Light 2: Stay Human – Reloaded Edition | Ultimate, Premium or Essential | October 25 | Not specified in announcement |
| Let’s Build a Zoo | Ultimate, Premium or Essential | October 25 | Not specified in announcement |
| Tropico 6 | Ultimate, Premium or Essential | October 25 | Not specified in announcement |
| Monster Hunter Stories | No Game Pass required | Check store availability | Three-hour timed trial |
| Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of Ruin | No Game Pass required | Check store availability | Three-hour timed trial |
| Riders Republic | No Game Pass required | October 26 | Not specified in announcement |
All dates are in 2026. A missing stated cap is not a promise of permanent access. A trial timer and a calendar deadline are separate restrictions; having time left on a trial does not extend the event.
How to avoid spending the remaining window downloading the wrong offer
Start with eligibility, then installation size, then the time you can actually spend playing. If you do not have an eligible subscription, remove the three membership-only entries from your shortlist before downloading anything. If you want a longer session, consider whether a three-hour sample will answer your purchase question.
For the Monster Hunter trials, use the session to judge whether the game’s basic rhythm appeals to you. Do not make finishing a long RPG the goal of a short evaluation. For any large download, prioritize the title you are most likely to try today rather than queuing the entire selection.
Xbox directs console players to the Store’s Subscriptions tab and Free Play Days collection. Sign in with the account that has the required entitlement. On a game’s product page, check that the selected button starts the eligible trial; if you see only a purchase price, pause and verify the account, offer and edition before confirming anything.
Is this a free game to keep?
These are temporary access offers, not a giveaway that permanently adds every game to your collection. Xbox says Gamerscore and achievements earned during the event are retained, and buying an eligible game lets you continue playing afterward.
Do not confuse a sale’s closing date with a trial’s closing date. A discounted purchase may remain available after free access ends. Compare the live store price only after deciding whether you want to own the game.
For context, our October 8 Free Play Days report covered a different lineup and access window. Its ARC Raiders and other trial conditions do not apply to this weekend’s games.



